Oh Christmas tree…

I´ve always liked alternative christmas trees. A few years ago I tried to convince my then boyfriend that a big sparkly pink tree would be a great idea, he didn´t agree… However he was able to settle for a more “masculine” tree in black and silver, going with the black and white minimalist interior of the apartment. And it ended up looking amazing! We found a plastic tree completely in black with little hints of silver and we put all black and silver decorations in it. Unfortunately I lost all my images in the great computer crash of 2010, otherwise I´d be happy to share it with you.

Someone who did get her pink tree is designer Betsey Johnson. It´s residing in The Plaza Hotel in New York and was inspired by one of their most famous, however fictional, celebrity guests, children´s book character Eloise. Betsey Johnson has also created an Eloise inspired suite for the hotel back in 2010.

At the unveiling of the tree the designer stated:
“I always knew there was a cosmic love between me and the Plaza, even though I didn’t grow up with Eloise, when I moved to New York, Eloise’s story and the Plaza were real aspirational fantasies for me. And I love that they’ve kept the architecture, history and beauty of The Plaza, instead of trying to make it too modern.”

“It’s filled with girly stuff — pink feathers, sparkles, foldout Eloise paper dolls. There’s three quarters of me that’s six years old and it comes out.”

Leave a Reply

