Helena Bonham Carter

I have to say Helena Bonham Carter is one of my favorite people, not only is she a great actress with an amazing unique fashion sense, she´s also (from what I hear), very intelligent and kind, confident and humble. I want to focus on her incredible personal style today though. What I love about her is that she wants fashion to be fun, not about looking perfect and following the same trends everyone else does. This is why I want to be a designer. I want to be creative, working with colors, unconventional materials, crazy cuts and contrasts, not being a slave under the latest trend forecasts. Fashion to me is art. Now of course it would be naive of me to think that there´s a huge market for that type of garments, unless I could get a job as HBC´s personal designer of course. Ah, well, a girl can dream…

Some quotes from miss Bonham-Carter in an interview with People Magazine, in january 2011.

“Sometimes I get it right and I sometimes I get it wrong. But fashion is all about having fun. I think fashion has been hijacked by the fashion industry creating rules on what one should wear and I feel like breaking the mold and seeing that the world won’t crumble.”

On her Golden Globe outfit, where she matched up a crazy colorful tulle dress with a red and a green shoe:
“Why not wear mismatching shoes? Who says we can’t? I was just having fun. For me, fashion is all about fantasy and putting unlikely things together. That’s what I love. I genuinely love dressing up.”

Leave a Reply

